20 Minutes or Less (2015)
Premiered by the Washington National Opera and the Washington National Symphony for the American Opera Initiative, December 2015
Duration: 20 min in one act
Libretto by Mark Sonnenblick
Instrumentation: 2 sopranos, mezzo-soprano, tenor, bass-baritone, player)-piano-strings (
Synopsis: Osha’s first night working at Pizza Queen coincides with their most important delivery of the year. Will her co-workers like and respect her? Will she get the pizza to the customer in time? Will the thin veneer of human civilization prove strong enough to keep the empty chaos of the universe at bay? The clock is ticking…



Rodman in North Korea (2015)
Premiered by the Alleghany Chamber Orchestra and Chorus, March 2015
Duration: 80 min in one act
Libretto by Mark Sonnenblick
Instrumentation: counter tenor/mezzo-soprano, tenor, bass-baritone, chorus (SSAATTBB) – 2.2 (dbl. bass clarinet).2.0- players)-piano-strings
Synopsis: Rodman in North Korea begins at a large rally following North Korea’s successful nuclear test. Kim Jong-Un, flush with victory, is certain that Obama will now be calling him to negotiate. Instead, he gets a phone call from the news organization Vice: they want Dennis Rodman and the Harlem Globetrotters to come and play a basketball game with the North Korean players. Jong-Un, who grew up obsessed with the Bulls, is surprised but agrees. When the Americans arrive and cultures begin to clash, Kim Jong-Un finds himself increasingly lost amidst the crass exuberance of American culture and the severe, confining legacy of his father and grandfather. It doesn’t help that, somewhere outside the grand stadiums of Pyongang, families are struggling, economies are slumping, children are starving in the streets…why does everyone always count on the dictator to keep a country from collapsing?

March, March, March (chorus)            This window (Kim Jong-Un’s aria)

  Kim Jong-Un performed by Ray Chenez, countertenor, Dennis Rodman  performed by Carl DuPont, baritone , and Kim Won-Hong performed by  Tim McGowan, tenor.


Styria (2013)
Premiered at the University of Cincinnati College-Conservatory of Music,  April 2013
Duration: 110 min, in two acts
Libretto by Amanda Consul, based on the novel Carmilla, by Sheridan LeFanu, all rights reserved.
Instrumentation: 4 sopranos, mezzo-soprano, 2 tenors, baritone, bass – +2-piano-strings (min.
Synopsis: A young girl, named Lily, travels to Styria after the mysterious death of her mother. She befriends a young Styrian woman, Carrie and meets a mysterious young woman, Laura, who knows the cause of her frequent nightmares. Laura begins to tell the story of her life as the Lily begins to connect the pieces of her past…and her future.

Prologue (orchestral reading performed by the CCM Philharmonia Orchestra)

Funeral Chorus (chorus scene, piano workshop)






Remember Me (2011)
Premiered at the University of Cincinnati College-Conservatory of Music,  October 2011
Duration: 6 min, in one act
Libretto by Sarah Hutchings, based on a poem by Christina Rossetti, all rights reserved.
Instrumentation: soprano, baritone, and piano
Synopsis: A woman grapples with the sudden diagnosis of a terminal illness, as her husband strays into the arms of another. Does she tell him of her struggle, or does she hope that the love they shared is remembered once more in her death?

Watch  a performance here. Performed by soprano, Maribeth Crawford and baritone , Jonathan Stinson.  Directed by Jennifer Williams.